Live blogging the shutdown from my corner of the country

As far as I know, my pay is now safe from the shut down. I am still proceeding with caution in the event of further shenanigans. I was once a Republican. I am now a small government conservative with a libertarian lean. I will be watching the congressional proceedings with interest. I am considering registering to vote locally instead. Either state I choose(military may vote absentee in their home of record, or in person in their state of duty station), I will not vote for any representative that votes for Obama care.

I am a backslidden Christian. Whether or not I go to church, I know and attempt to follow my chosen religion’s teachings. One of the most widely accepted among almost all Christian faiths is the idea that children are the Kingdom of Heaven. When Harry Reid made clear he wouldn’t be interested in helping even one child with cancer, I almost hit the roof. “That which you do to the least of these…you do to me”. Jesus said that and I believe it.

There is a movement going on to amend the Constitution in such a way that the representatives have to take their own medicine. I agree wholeheartedly.

There is a popular economic theory called trickle down economics. It is closely correlated to the law of unintended consequences. Let us proceed down this rabbit hole for a few moments. Due to the government shutdown, commissaries are closed. There will now be around 40 employees per store that are on leave without pay. As a consequence, they will buy less stuff. The state and the fed will get less taxes. Military families in high cost areas such as San Diego will have to buy groceries on the local economy. That will leave them less money to buy other stuff. The less they buy, the less sales tax.

The law of unintended consequences slapped the Seattle liberals in the 2 pack when more people started riding bikes. Fewer people were riding cars therefore, fewer people were buying gas. That meant the state and the fed were getting less income from their obscene gasoline taxes. The state tried to pass a bicycle tax to make up the revenue shortfall. They were roundly mocked on the one conservative radio station in western Washington.

There but for the grace of God go I. At some point the lefties and a-holes in the Senate may deem national defense unnecessary because us big mean military guys scare them. Fall out, and carry out the plan of the day.

One thought on “Live blogging the shutdown from my corner of the country

  1. Pingback: Live blogging the shutdown from my corner of the country | ChristianBookBarn.com

Leave a Reply

