Gun Stuff

I have been trying in vain to get a scope on my Winchester rifle. At the point of no return, I went back to first principles. If you can’t do the assigned task, stop and ask someone more qualified. So I gathered my various pieces of equipment and went to the local “Emporium of All Things Sporting Goods”. Because I bought the scope kit from them, install was free. While we were there, Mrs. Snipe found a few things for the Pocket Monkey and I on the clearance racks.

No fewer than 5 people commented on my rifle. My inner gun geek is still giggling like a school girl over that. My rifle is a Pre ’64 Featherweight Model 70, chambered for .270. My brother in law recognized it as a sniper rifle based on the description over the phone. I take good care of it. One old timer commented on the stock. One guy commented on the overall rifle. I was asked if I inherited it. I replied that I bought it from a gun show. The store guys wondered audibly how someone could luck into such a fine rifle. I was amused.

I got my scope installed and bore sighted. The 83 dollars I spent there was for other stuff. I got one pair of pants, one pair of shorts, a couple boxes of shotgun ammo, a parka, and some jerky for the above price.

Tomorrow, I plan to go and sight the scope. I want to get a deer with that rifle this year. The son likes all things sniper. He thinks that it is the coolest rifle ever.

The Model 70 is the Rifleman’s Rifle. If I ever get into Appleseed, it is the rifle I will use. I believe that it is one of the best bolt actions ever made. That is all. Fall out, and carry out the plan of the day.

Leave a Reply

