Deadly force revisited

I believe every man should be quick to think and slow to speak. After letting the jury decision in Florida marinate in my mind, I have a few things to say. In the first place, our system was designed to let a few guilty go free in order to protect the innocent. I still personally think all parties f’ed up completely.

First my bona fides. I stood on gun crews and armed watch for 3 years. I had a civilian CCW for a comparable number of years. Your tax dollars have trained me well in the art of shooting bad guys.

Every man has the right to self defense. In the military, we have rules, regulations and Standard Operating Procedures(SOP) on when we can shoot and what to do in the meantime(baton, OC, etc..). The right of self defense remains un-impeached in all cases.

On a crew served weapon, you must wait for orders to fire, unless you are fired upon. If you are fired upon, self defense is authorized. This is a federal requirement.

I am naturally inclined to agree with the jury in the Zimmerman trial. They heard all the evidence and facts. I personally think the jury could have been more diverse.

Reasonable doubt. If you can’t prove it beyond a reasonable doubt, the accused is innocent. Like it or not, those are the rules. The libs are pissed because their well-oiled machine couldn’t railroad an innocent man.

Stand your ground. I grew up knowing that in my state, you had to be in the “farthest corner of your house” before you could legally return fire. I like the Castle Doctrine. Why should I corner myself to give the bad guys a fighting chance? In the US Armed Forces, they teach us speed, surprise and violence of action. Why shouldn’t civilians have the same rules?

The takeaway is, if either party walked away when appropriate, this would be a moot point. I wasn’t there. I may have shot, also. I think it is tragic. I also wish that the administration would spend even half as much effort on Benghazi.

Fall out, and carry out the plan of the day.

Leave a Reply

