Shipfitting

Amazing how a smaller workshop can change your perspective.  A conversation from work today while manufacturing a bracket by hand.

” Fireman F, do you know what I miss?”

“Being a shipfitter?”

“This is shipfitting.  I miss being a shipfitter with all the right and best tools at my disposal.  We had a machine.  Holler  ‘Clear the buffalo’ push a button, and you’d have your holes punched”.

HTFN F, ” Lucky bastard.  I wanna try that.”

I never thought I would miss the rerpair ship, but lo and behold, now I do.  As a former XO once said, “Best two ships in the navy boys.  The one you just left and the one you are going to.”

Leave a Reply

