Memorial Day

One of the many burdens of military service is seeing good men die.  I was going to post a memorial Day poem, but that seems trite.  As I write this, I am seeing the faces of men from my hometown, and men from my “A” school that are KIA.  One of my best buddies from Great Lakes, IL at Service School Command was among the KIA on the USS Cole.  I wept for his family and sent a letter to his Mom.  That was one of the hardest letters I ever wrote, as I met his family when they came to visit.  He has joined the ranks of “those who have gone before to defend freedom and democracy around the world”.  On second thought, here is a link to a poem poem that means much to me.

   http://www.lindavdahl.com/FrontPage_Links/Poem-This%20flag%20may%20fade.htm

Leave a Reply

