Uniforms

One of the first thing a new Sailor learns is how to wear a uniform.  Failure to comply is punished swiftly and harshly.  I am sure Tanker over at Mostly Cajun can elaborate further, as he was a DI.  Any Sailor stationed on a ship has received all the instruction a grown ass man should need.  In the military, if you shave, keep your hair short, and take ten minutes on your uniform, you’re halfway to good sailor.  Personally, I hate shaving, but I do so because it is no less part of my job than sawing wood or running a shop.  One of my minions got caught not shaving by our Leading Petty Officer(LPO), who recently came from the Navy equivalent of DI duty.  Then he didn’t shave yesterday.  Dumb#ss!  We have a tool called a recruit fashion inspection.  Over the course of a few days, “At lunch tomorrow, I want to see you in whites, blues, coveralls, etc..”  If that doesn’t work, one after the other in the same day.  The big daddy of ’em all is the seabag inspection aka junk on the bunk.  We also can make certain slow learning types muster with me or my HT2 before leaving berthing before work.  Failure to comply results in inspections prior to liberty.  Those get painful because I don’t want to be there.  There you have it.  A week’s worth of ranting and maritime misadventures.

Leave a Reply

