Major fuel leak

I am not known for my tact.  In fact, I often catch heat for saying what needs said in a blunt manner.  On the cruiser I was on, I served as the Duty Fire Marshal.  In essence, I was the direct representation of the Damage Control Assistant and the Damage Control Chief when they were absent.  We had returned to San Diego from rough seas, and the fertilizer hit the ventilator.  Some rough seas had weakened a fuel tank.  I was coming on watch as the Engineering Rover.  I smelled fuel.  A cursory investigation revealed that there was a major fuel leak, in port, in Auxiliary Room 2(Aux 2).  As engineers, how to react to any engineering casualty is drilled into our head with a jackhammer.  I identified the casualty and called it away.  A short while later, many upper ecehelon types, in civvies, were rubber necking.  My words were as such, “If you are not on the Inport Emergency Team, get the F^%k out of the space.”  We continued our actions to control the fuel leak.  I also had to plow over an Ensign who kept trying to ask me if it was a drill.  After everything was said and done, the Ensign wanted to have my ass.  For the non-Navy, during a casualty, the Emergency Party has absolute right-of-way.  The Command Duty Officer, who happened to be a Chief Warrant Officer, explained this to said Ensign in no uncertain terms.  All I got for it was a handshake, and an admonition to not be so blunt with the khaki glory vulture brigade the next time/

Leave a Reply

