Inspiration to serve

    I Like this quote I dislike this quote“I must study politics and war that my sons may have liberty to study mathematics and philosophy.” John Adams.

John Adams is one of my favorite historical US Prsidents.  He founded the Navy, along with a couple of others, such as Esek Hopkins and John Paul Jones, all three of which are credited with being the father of the modern Navy.  Many people make honest inquiries into why I choose to serve in the Armed Forces.  The above quote sums it up quite nicely.  Every time I am on a midwatch, or scared out of my mind, I think of my 2 youngest siblings, ages 4 and 7.  I am doing what I do today, so they are free not to tomorrow.  My Mom once asked what I thought about people protesting the very war I was serving in on the steps of the US Capitol, during a phone call home during one of the port calls.  For the weeks prior to that phone call, I had carried a gas mask everywhere.  We had a face-off with Iranians.  We had launched, refueled, and supported Allied helicopters at all hours of the day and night.  Among other actions I probably can’t mention here.  That pesky OPSEC thing again.  I simply told my Mom this, “It means we are doing our job well, Mom.  The very fact that people can protest with immunity gives me a sense of pride in this country.”  This was several years ago, and at that time the protesters were generally peaceful.  Some of the dumb ones went to Iraq to be used as human shields near schools.  Sadaam wanted to use them near military sites.  Makes ya think, don’t it?

Leave a Reply

