Respect

I do not like people who lack respect.  My parents taught me from very young about how to respect things that needed respect.  Things such as the US Flag, elders, veteans, police, firefighters, etc.  On Guam, a little respect goes a long way.  I have made a lot of friends here by showing basic respect.  A lot of people have asked me why I refer to Mr. McCain as such, or as Senator McCain.  It is very simple.  He is an honorably discharged Naval Officer(I don’t remember if he retired or not), who is also a Senator.  As such, per long standing regulations he must be addressed or spoken of respectfully.  Of course, I may, on my own time, voice disagreements with his policies.  Unfortunately, if that other Senator gains office, I will be obliged to speak respectfully of him, truth squad or not.

Leave a Reply

